Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: CNC lathe setup

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cortland, New York
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default CNC lathe setup

    I need help on setting up a CNC lathe. I have a CNC lathe that just sits there because no one but myself has any clue on how to run CNC machines. I am very experienced on our CNC mill, but haven't had the time to figure out the lathe.

    The only part that gets me on the lathe is setting up my tooling and the offsets. What is the best way to set up my tooling? Off the face of the part or, the face of the chuck jaws? Should I use G43 - Tool Length Offset? I want to know the best way to do this and be able to write my programs accordingly to how I set my tools up. Should I use G54, G55 - work coordinate with a lathe?

    The mill I set tools off of the same point for each tool and use G43 and the work coordinate system.

    I want to train some employees how to run the CNC machines but need to learn the lathe first! Can anyone help me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: CNC lathe setup

    Alex,

    Take a look at the Offset section toward the rear of this training manual. Good luck with the cross training!

    JR
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbus, ohio
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

    Default Re: CNC lathe setup

    Alex:
    Please tell us all what the machine and control is, also the year and model of the control.
    Lathe setup on the newer lathe totally different than on the older controls, especially before the Fanuc 0T control.
    Good luck, if I can help you over the phone, I'll be glad to do so.
    Heinz, 614-888-8466.
    Last edited by Petro; 08-13-09 at 10:37 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cortland, New York
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: CNC lathe setup

    The lathe is an Aero Turn BT-300 with a Fanuc Oi-TC control. The machine is one year old.

  5. #5
    sethmaya15 Guest

    Default Re: CNC lathe setup

    i want to know about cnc lathes. Where should i get information

  6. #6
    kashari Guest

    Default Re: CNC lathe setup

    Are you still having issues setting up your lathe?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbus, ohio
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

    Default Re: CNC lathe setup

    On your lathe, use the Z-value in the G54 to set up the face of the part.
    To do it, take a skin cut on the face, leave your tool in the same Z position as the cut, have the cursor sitting on Z in G54(Coordinate system 1),
    put Z0 on the screen and touch Measure.
    Go to Geometry offset and set the X by taking a cut, put the diam. you just cut on the screen, then touch Measure.
    Set all tools in X.
    To set Z for all the other tools, put the tool at the cut face, put Z zero on the screen, touch Measure while you are sitting with the cursor under the Z of your tool.
    All of this is in the DVD called "Mill 2".
    Any questions, call 614-888-8466.
    To learn more about programming, look at [http://www.doccnc.com]
    Heinz.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Columbus, ohio
    Posts
    246
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

    Default Re: CNC lathe setup

    To get started in learning CNC, look at all the examples on my website.
    The website is www.doccnc.com
    On my last post, I misspelled my own website.
    Heinz.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts

    Default Re: CNC lathe setup

    I like the concept of "standard tool" and set G54 X/Z with reference to this tool. Then, geometry offset for the corresponding offset number would be zero. Only wear offset would be used to take care of tool wear in due course of time. Other tools will use geometry offsets also which would be the difference in the position of tool tip from the standard tool. MEASUR soft key would measure and save this difference.

Similar Threads

  1. Dnc shop setup
    By michelle in forum Programming / Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-11, 10:11 AM
  2. PCMCIA Setup
    By Locke in forum Fanuc Controls
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-13-07, 10:14 AM
  3. Lathe setup sheets
    By dcrace in forum Programming / Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-25-06, 10:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •