Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Fanuc tool length offset question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Fanuc tool length offset question

    Good morning, I have worked on many control types in my years of programming, so I am not a novice. I have over thirty years of CNC programming, process development, working with manufacturing cells, and I teach Machine technology at a local trade school. I have worked with Haas, Yasnac, Meldas, Mazak, Fanuc to name a few over the years. The Haas and Yasnac are my favorites, very user friendly and logical. I feel that I am just not seeing something in the Fanuc control in regards to tool length measurement and setting at the machine, and hoping some one can shed some light on the matter for me...

    My method for tool length offset at the machine (dynamic measurement) is as follows:
    1) I measure off the machine table on top of a 1-2-3 block, the 3" side.
    2) Set all the tools at this point, enter the lengths into the height offset registers.
    3) I them measure from the top of the measurement block to the top of each of my work piece Z-zero planes and set my work offsets as required, G54 vise one, G55 vise two and so on...
    4) If I need to change a tool it is always measured on top of the block as listed above.

    Easy method, fast accurate and no fuss to get a job running.
    On the Haas, and other controls I just enter the length coordinate of the machine "Z-axis" directly into the length offset register and it is done.

    My question is this; I notice on a Fanuc control, it will add what ever active work offset G54-G59 Z values to the tool length when you write it into the register using the c-input? Why Why why??

    This has frustrated me for years, I wonder if any one knows how to make it read only from the machine coordinate system. The Haas control has two parameter settings for tool length offset, Fanuc, and Haas when set to Fanuc it does exactly as described above. I tell every one who has a Haas to turn the Fanuc style off....

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Williams Bay, WI
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default Re: Fanuc tool length offset question

    We didn't see what exact control model you are referring to but, in the Fanuc O&M for the 16 and 18 you could look at parameters 5001 to 5030.

Similar Threads

  1. Tool offset based on Dial Gauge Input for Fanuc CNC
    By vivu91 in forum Fanuc Controls
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-02-17, 10:06 AM
  2. Haas TM1 Tool Changer Question, Please Help!
    By aesolinger31 in forum Machine Repair & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-20-14, 12:25 PM
  3. Fanuc 6T-B Automatic Tool Offset G36 / G37
    By gtms_scott in forum Fanuc Controls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-05-12, 09:44 PM
  4. Hitachi HG400III and tool length measure
    By =aike= in forum Machine Repair & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-17-12, 08:37 AM
  5. Multiple Offset Question
    By tsaladyga in forum Fanuc Controls
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-07-12, 04:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •