Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Aligning Origins. Help!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation Aligning Origins. Help!!

    Hello, I am new to CNC. I am trying to get my origins synched here.
    I am using TurboCAD and a waterjet machine. How do I get (0,0) on the
    machine to = (0,0) in my drawings? Any help is much appreciated...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Illinois / Wisconsin border
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts

    Default Re: Aligning Origins. Help!!

    Your "program" Zero points are basically determined by HOW you program the part/shape. - from your drawing.

    The Machine's ZERO will be setup on the machine as an OFFSET from its "home" position.

    Example, if you are cutting a Square Box, you can program it from any corner or the center of the box as your "program origin". The coordinates will be very different based on which quadrant you call "zero".
    Once you have determined where this is, when the program is sent to the machine (presumed with a setup sheet), the machine's OFFSET from its home position will make the pattern where you tell it to go.

    Grab your machine's manual. It should be in the first couple sections.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to MMMMM For This Useful Post:

    Bdagz (06-07-12)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Aligning Origins. Help!!

    Thanks, MMMMM. I am trying to shoot 4 holes through a piece of glass.
    Obviously, these holes must be very accurate. I am proficient in CAD, but have no CNC experience at all. I draw a rectangle to mimic the glass piece, but have to delete it before it goes to the machine. Then what? There is no manual with this machine...GRRRRAAAH!!!! How do go about doing this? What do you know about the process? Any tips? Please help...
    And thank you again

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Illinois / Wisconsin border
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts

    Default Re: Aligning Origins. Help!!

    Ok - first question, what kind of control are you working with?
    Typically, you'll have menu keys on the control. Look for one that says "OFFSET" or of the like.
    It should be a register of values. They may all be Zero.

    Next question, do you have any programs that exist in the machine that you could send me to look at? This will give a clear definition of what you will need.

    When you manually move the head around, can you see the values on the position screen change?
    You should have four different sets to view when you're in MEMORY mode:
    MACHINE (current position from Machine HOME)
    ABSOLUTE (current position from OFFSET HOME)
    RELETIVE (user value that you can set anywhere for YOU only - machine will not use this)
    DISTANCE TO GO (shows in a program, from where it's at to where it's going next)

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to MMMMM For This Useful Post:

    Bdagz (06-07-12)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Illinois / Wisconsin border
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts

    Default Re: Aligning Origins. Help!!

    The one thing you'll need to assign in the program is the OFFSET number or the reference to the register number you're going to "teach" to be the part Zero.
    Typically, CNCs using G-Code will use offset registers;
    G54, G55, G56, G57, G58, and/or G59.

    If you can find the register for G54 on your OFFSET screen, you simply put the values from the Position screen from MACHINE in this register for each axis.
    In the program, when you give it a MOVE command, do it like this;
    G0 G90 G54 X0 Y0
    It will (should) take the center of the head to your parts' X0 Y0 position.

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Aligning Origins. Help!!

    You are a big help, thank you. We use a Jordon Waterjet JGW-3015
    and Weihong Motion Control System. I am new to all of this stuff. We just located the User's Manual. I will go through it see what I can find. I'm
    getting the sense that I have to switch the x and y axes on the machine...Obviously they hired me for my CAD skills...but now I have to
    translate them into CNC...Any tips of the trade that you want to share...please feel free!

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Illinois / Wisconsin border
    Posts
    190
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts

    Default Re: Aligning Origins. Help!!

    Only tip I can suggest is to read the books.

    There are quite a few bright minds on this forum. Perhaps someone has one of these to help.
    There are a couple of other sites that deal in Waterjet machines - that would be a good start. (I'm not overly familar with these)

    My other tip - contact Jordon http://jordonglass.com

    Oh, and good luck!

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Aligning Origins. Help!!

    do you have any programs that exist in the machine that you could send me to look at? This will give a clear definition of what you will need.

Similar Threads

  1. Cincinnati milacorn acramatic 850 axis not aligning
    By keyanvmc in forum Machine Repair & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-11, 05:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •