Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Magnatek spindle drive, no power to logic board

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Magnatek spindle drive, no power to logic board

    Was idling and all of a sudden lost all power to logic board drive. Drive is a GPD503 open loop drive. Machine was still running, verified good power to drive, main fuse still good, DC buss voltage was 350VDC and still powering axis drives fine. I really think this is a low voltage power supply issue but not sure where to start. Hard to get a schematic for this drive and no smoking guns inside like exploded components (I never get that lucky). I am sort of suspecting an old multi tap transformer coil but no other reason than I have no specs or way to verify it.

    Can anyone offer any help at all, either in general or specifically to the GPD drive generation? I believe all the major components are fine but obviously a 50 cent part can ruin your whole day!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    664
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 95 Times in 77 Posts

    Default Re: Magnatek spindle drive, no power to logic board

    Hope this helps, if you need the complete 56-page manual, please let me know, it's free.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails GPD 503.pdf  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Magnatek spindle drive, no power to logic board

    THAT IS OUTSTANDING!!! I am shocked that someone had that info. Yes please, if you have more of that, I will take it!! I already have the operations and tech manual but anything to do with board level repair would be great!


    Also, since you are probably "on the level" regarding drives, I am trying to install a different drive because of this failure and VERY concerned about the shot pin system for spindle orient. The Magnatek drive is a scalar v/hz or open loop drive. The drive I am installing is a sensorless vector A500 Mits unit. My concern is when a slow speed is commanded while the shot pin locks, the drive might try to power out of the pin stop before it gets the halt command and damage something. Am I just over thinking this or could we have real issues here? orient speed will likely be about 30-50rpm on the motor.

    It does not seem there are any outputs from the control side to easily apply a torque limit for orient. Not sure how to configure this yet safely.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    664
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 95 Times in 77 Posts

    Default Re: Magnatek spindle drive, no power to logic board

    I uploaded the pdf file to Dropbox, its name is Magnetek GPD 503, inside the folder "CNC Forum dropbox".

    You don´t need to install the Dropbox application in your computer in order to download the Magnetek file.

    Here is the link to this forum's Dropbox account:

    http://cnc-professional-forum.com/ma...ageid=drop-box

    Please let me know when you are done, to erase the file accordingly.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Sinumeriko For This Useful Post:

    john49 (03-13-12)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Magnatek spindle drive, no power to logic board

    Thanks! I grabbed it up. I will have to see if it will do us any good. Looks like a PS board issue so far.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Magnatek spindle drive, no power to logic board

    Quote Originally Posted by Sinumeriko View Post
    Hope this helps, if you need the complete 56-page manual, please let me know, it's free.
    By any chance does anyone have a copy of this manual? Much appreciated if someone reposts it. You can email me is your wish,

    Thanks,

    Doug

Similar Threads

  1. Okuma LB - 15 - Spindle do not have power
    By rajappa in forum Machine Repair & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-07-14, 10:51 AM
  2. BLII-D power board schematic
    By turbina in forum Machine Repair & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-14-13, 05:47 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-08-13, 09:16 AM
  4. logic to calculate time between spindle on off
    By emilr in forum Programming / Applications
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-27-12, 12:13 PM
  5. New a axis motor, cable and mocon board-now gets 123 spindle drive F
    By cnctx in forum Machine Repair & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-16-11, 11:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •