Thread: Setting lathe work piece coordinates G54-G59 (Faunuc Oi-Tc)

Thanks

Default Setting lathe work piece coordinates G54-G59 (Faunuc Oi-Tc)

I have recently obtained an Aero-Turn BT-300 lathe with the Fanuc Oi-Tc control and have started going through the programming experience. I have now stumbled on the task of setting up different work coordinates for different parts that I would like to run. Can anyone walk me through setting those up? Remember that I am a novice at this time but am improving.

Thanks

Default Re: Setting lathe work piece coordinates G54-G59 (Faunuc Oi-Tc)

George,
    This will really depend on how your machine is setup for your reference positions. Like Z0 is top of chuck and X0 is center of chuck. Typically once you have a tool offset to a standard......say chuck face then you can enter a height of a part in G54-G59 and then when you activate the workcoordinate then this will become your zero position. An example is if you were to program G0Z0 with your tool offset active then the tool tip would go to the chuck face. Now if you put a 3" part on your machine and also put 3" in your G55 Z workcoordinate and program G0G55Z0 with your tooloffset active your tool tip will go to the top of the part. This is the most common way but it really depends on how your machine is setup.

Here are a few links to some other threads were this has been discussed. Take a look at them and let me know were you may have some questions.

http://cnc-professional-forum.com/pr...ro-toyoda.html

http://cnc-professional-forum.com/ge...c-control.html

FYI......most fanucs will default to G54 when reset or M30 program end is read. So don't get yourself messed up thru trial and error if you play around.

Stevo
    (The opinions in this post are my own and not those of machinetoolhelp.com and its management)

Thanks

Stevo,