Thread: CAD/CAM Software

Thanks

Default CAD/CAM Software

Hello everyone,
    I'm hoping that someone out there has had some experience in this area. I have acquired a Bridgeport Series 1 Mill with Southwestern Industries Prototrax Plus controller. The comtroller has RS-232 port and a communication cable. I believe that the previous owner used Mastercam as there CAD/CAm software program. I have gotten pretty good with all of the basic functions and can mill simple parts by writing programs straight to the controller. I don't know G-codes very well, as I'm not a machinist by trade. I have just made parts for myself and all of my
    projects. When it comes to the more complex parts, I have had some trouble writing them to the controller and it is too time consuming.

I would like to get some type of a CAD/CAM program that I could design the part and write it to another computer at my shop, then transfer to my Prototrax controller. I have taken a short course on Mastercam but believe it would be well out of my price range. The program needs to be fairly economical and user friendly to use. I would like to to be on 2 computers and be able to transfer files on a USB thumb drive. It needs to be compatible with Windows XP and comminucation has to be through a RS-232 cable.
    What progams has anybody had experience with and which programs would you recommend for my application?

Thanks

Smile Re: CAD/CAM Software OneCNC

You can try for OneCNC Software. I do not have prices, but is very very simple to use. They have uploaded many videos on the internet. Hence training is not an issue. see www.onecnc.net for details.

Thanks

Default Re: CAD/CAM Software