Thread: Electrical Engineer

Thanks

Red face Electrical Engineer

I am a controls engineer that has been asked to take over our CNC milling machines. I have been programming PLC's for years but have limited experience with CNC's; G Code.

The first task assigned to me is to come up with a safety standard to implement on all of our machines, one that makes since, nothing to inhibiting. I was wondering if there is a safety standard already in place that is accepted throughout the industry?

Thanks

Default Re: Electrical Engineer

Andy,
    Welcome to the group. Glad you could join us.

What kind of saftey? Operations or Maintenence? There are standards for things like lock out tag out for working on the machines but operating is really about working smart and having the proper saftey devices on the MT.

Stevo
    (The opinions in this post are my own and not those of machinetoolhelp.com and its management)

Thanks

As a machine tool tech, I have been in a lot of shops with varying degree of safely standards. From what I have seen there is a tension between safely and getting the job done. Machine tools are inherently dangerous. Each thing you add to make a machine safer adds time and effort to your machining process. What you might start with is to find the manuals for the machines in your shop and read through their safety instructions. This might give you some ideas over all, and some specifics to the machines you have. I listed below the basics that I see in most shops. That might help you.

1.Safetly glasses must be worn at all times in the shop.
    2.No loss or baggy clothing.
    3.long hair should be tied up under a hat or hair net.
    4.no rings or necklaces should be worn in the shop.
    5.no open toed shoos in the shop.