Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Hitachi Seiki VK45 Communications Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Hitachi Seiki VK45 Communications Problem

    Hi,
    I have a vertical Hitachi Seiki mill and i am getting a "line busy" comment when I am trying to upload or download a program via rs232. I have tried to power down and power up, disconnect the cable from the port, etc.
    No luck....This comment does not generate an alarm but it is restricting me from loading programs. It has been working fine until a few days ago.

    Can anyone help??? Thanks in advance

    regards,
    Alan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,005
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 77 Times in 67 Posts

    Default Re: Hitachi Seiki VK45 Communications Problem

    Do you have an LED tester that you can plug into the machine? If so plug into the machine without the cable disconnected and let me know what LED's are on.
    Also check the port setting on the Hitachi control side. That has a Micon control correct?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: Hitachi Seiki VK45 Communications Problem

    Hi.
    Need help.
    I just got the same message from my lathe "line busy" (resently bought, have not been able to load a program yet). I don't have a LED tester.
    Did you resolve your problem? If so, how? I want to believe it's a software setting.
    Thanks
    Ryan
    Last edited by Ryan Kobliha; 06-20-11 at 01:20 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Great State of Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,212
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 134 Times in 112 Posts

    Default Re: Hitachi Seiki VK45 Communications Problem

    What model control is on your machine? Secos? It has been a long time since working on these machines that I knew very intimately. And I do remember this alarm. IIRC it had something to do with the settings in the IN/OUT key or the pinout on the cable.

    I would start with the pinout of the cable.

    Stevo
    (The opinions in this post are my own and not those of machinetoolhelp.com and its management)

Similar Threads

  1. Hitachi VK45 won't run in AUTO mode
    By keshka in forum Machine Repair & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-27-14, 10:30 PM
  2. Hitachi Seiki, Display problem
    By solmei in forum Machine Repair & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-26-11, 03:01 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •